Skip to main content

Rural Quality Improvement Steering Committee

The purpose of the Rural Quality Improvement Steering Committee is to provide the framework for developing a QI plan that is comprehensive, integrated and holistic in its approach to quality management. The Committee was asked to make recommendations regarding forms, reports, and education that are needed to implement the model QI plan. 

The Nebraska Hospital Association, the QIO and the Nebraska Health & Human Services Office of Rural Health sponsored a Quality Improvement Conference in May of 2002. At that time several volunteers came forward to work on this project. Since 2002, others have joined the committee and its important work has continued.


The Rural Quality Improvement Steering Committee was charged with the responsibility of developing a model QI plan for Nebraska hospitals that will:

  • Provide a workable model for completing quality improvement activities
  • Satisfy regulatory requirements
  • Help hospitals assure the delivery of high-quality patient care
  • Developing sample forms for use in completing quality improvement activities
  • Developing a dashboard report for use by hospitals
  • Identifying education necessary to accomplish the goals of this plan
Current Members

Margaret Brockman, RN, MSN, Chair 
Office of Rural Health, Division of Public     
Health Nebraska Dept. of Health and Human Services

Cynthia Arnold, MSN RN-BC, LSSGB
Quality Leader

Gail Brondum, LPN, BS 
Executive Director
Nebraska Coalition for Patient Safety 

Nikki Clement, RN, MSN
Network Coordinator, Rural Health Services CHI Health Good Samaritan

Dan DeFreece, MD
CHI Health St. Mary’s
Nebraska City

Marty Fattig, MHA, ACHE
Chief Executive Officer 
Nemaha County Hospital 

Anne Hansen, CPHQ, MSN, RN-BC
Director Quality and Population Health 
Prairie Health Ventures

Nancy Jo Hansen
FLEX and SHIP Program Manager
Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services Lincoln

Treva Hanson
Director of Nursing 
York General Hearthstone

Shalynne Hohnholt, RN
Director of Nursing/LTC RN consultant
Mid-Nebraska Lutheran Home
Newman Grove

Donnette Hoyle, RN, BSN 
Network Coordinator 
CHI Rural Health Services 

Victoria Kennel, PhD
Assistant Professor
Industrial/Organizational Psychologist
Division of Allied Health Research
College of Allied Health Professions

Kyle Klammer, MD
Primary Care Physician
Lexington Regional Medical Center

Amber Lubben
Quality & Risk Manager
Kearney Regional Medical Center

Shari Michl, RN, CPHQ
Director of Quality
Fillmore County Hospital 

Darcy Ost, BSN, RN
Surgery Nurse
York General Hospital

Francine Parmenter
Quality Management Director
Twelve Clans Unity Hospital

Christina Pollard, BA 
Chief Quality Officer
Valley County Health System Ord

Jan Rains RN
Quality Assurance Coordinator
Beatrice Community Hospital 

Bill Redinger, BSQ, LSSGB, CQE, CPHQ
Risk Manager, Compliance & Emergency Management
Grand Island Regional Medical Center
Grand Island

Denise Sabatka, RN, BSN 
Director, Quality Services 
Saunders Medical Center

Charlene Sanders
Patient & Family Advisor

Erin Starr, RN, BSN 
Chief Quality Officer
Jefferson Community Health & Life

Anne Timmerman, MT (ASCP), CPHQ
Director of Quality & Safety
Franciscan Healthcare
West Point

Sarah Thornburg BSN, RN
Network Coordinator
CHI Health

Jayne VanAsperen, RN, BSN
Rural Division Quality Officer
Bryan Health

Suzi VonBergen RN
Nemaha County Hospital

NHA Staff
Margaret Woeppel MSN, RN, CPHQ
Vice President, Workforce, Quality and Data
Nebraska Hospital Association

Dana Steiner MBA, BSN
Director, Quality & Performance Improvement
Nebraska Hospital Association